The Taft Museum of Art blog, Frame|Work, offers unique perspectives on the stories and people behind the Taft, its historic house, and the art and artifacts that leave us captivated. Immerse yourself in the Taft's history as we explore the past and preserve the treasures in our collection for centuries to come.
Discover new details and make new connections with the featured works of art by taking a “Closer Look” using the observation prompts that follow each description.
In The Inside Story (previously titled Collection Connection), Taft staff explore a range of topics related to the museum’s permanent collection, temporary exhibitions, and the history of the Taft house. This series of articles was originally published in Portico, the Taft’s members’ magazine.
Written by our curatorial team, who share with viewers some of their favorite works in our collection, their passion projects, and their current research initiatives.
When an art object is going to be photographed for publication, it needs to look its best. One of the Taft’s treasures, the splendid but badly tarnished 17th-century Two-Handled Covered Cup, was brought to the Museum’s conservation lab to be cleaned and stabilized prior to photography (The Taft has a lab on site for the use of different contract conservators, each of whom specializes in certain kinds of art objects.)
Oz Visits the Queen City
In 1900, L. Frank Baum published The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, and the following year he began adapting the book as a musical for adults. The show premiered in Chicago in 1902, became a smash hit, opened on Broadway, and then toured until 1909. The Wizard of Oz opened in Cincinnati at the Grand Opera House on New Year’s Day, 1905.